Salvete omnes

Salvete, new amici; tell us a bit about yourselves! But this is no ordinary Intro forum; you will learn quite a bit about the rest of us too. >({|:-)

Moderators: Aldus Marius, Valerius Claudius Iohanes

Salvete omnes

Postby Marcus Tullius Ioannes on Sat Oct 20, 2007 3:55 pm

By way of introduction, I have long been fascinated by Roman history, and have more recently come to appreciate the Roman Stoics, as teachers of a way to live. The philosophy I studied was of the analytic and "ordinary language" schools, with a generous dose of American Pragmatism and Utilitarianism, but although the latter two schools did provide some guidance, I did not find thoughtful consideration of the best way to live in this world until I began reading the ancients (only in translation, I'm afraid).

This looks like a very interesting forum. I have much to learn, and look forwarding to learning from and with you all.
Philosophia est ars vitae
Marcus Tullius Ioannes
I. Auxiliary
I. Auxiliary

Re Stoicis

Postby Valerius Claudius Iohanes on Wed Oct 31, 2007 11:47 pm

Salve, Ciceronianus -

Nice to have you aboard here. I'm moved to write because I, too, have found the Stoic notions terribly useful in what is, for me, an endlessly hopeless world. It seems that Chaos holds all the cards, except for how we approach it (and ourselves). So for me it has become a necessity to turn perceived reality on its head, set aside my reactions and judgments and personal devils long enough to recognize, as Epictetus said, those things you can control, and those which you cannot.

Reality is damned funny stuff....

De totis modis, Vale bene.
Valerius Claudius Iohannes
Curator anno MMDCCLXII
Centurio Honorarius Societatis
Civis ab MMDCCLIV

:: Adversitas bono viro intelligentiam docet. ::
Valerius Claudius Iohanes
Curator
Curator

Location: Sancti Leandri Oppidum, California Franciscencis, Conpactae Civitates Americae

Postby Marcus Tullius Ioannes on Sat Nov 03, 2007 2:35 pm