Plauta salutat omnes

Salvete, new amici; tell us a bit about yourselves! But this is no ordinary Intro forum; you will learn quite a bit about the rest of us too. >({|:-)

Moderators: Aldus Marius, Valerius Claudius Iohanes

Plauta salutat omnes

Postby L. Livia Plauta on Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:43 am

Salvete omnes,

I'm Lucia Livia Plauta. I was born in Rome, lived in Turin for most of my youth, and now, since 15 years, I live in Budapest, Hungary.

I've always been interested in archaeology, specially greek and roman.
Like a lot of italians, I studied Latin and ancient Greek at high school. Unfortunately that was more than 20 years ago, so my knowledge is a bit rusty by now. However, I found ancient Greek is a big help in studying modern Greek, which is my current project.
I love re-enacting, specially military re-enacting, even though I only had one short chance so far to wear legionary armour. But I have some experience in japanese martial arts (iaido) and love all kinds of weapons.
Unfortunately roman military re-enacting (if historically correct) is forcibly limited to men, and I find that virtually changing sex and calling myself Livius Plautus wouldn't be a satisfactory solution.

For 15 years I taught Italian, however I am now in the midst of a career change and thinking of setting up a business producing and selling replicas of ancient roman and greek artifacts (from jewellery, to pottery, to clothes).

Some of you may know me from Nova Roma, where I've been a citizen for more or less one year, and where I'm currently holding the office of tribuna plebis.
I joined because I'm very interested in Religio Romana (to say I'm practicing would be an exaggeration, but I'm trying), and because I would like to meet like-minded people.