The extent of Lucifer

This collegium and forum are dedicated to the study, discussion, re-creation and application of classical Roman and Greek religion and philosophy.

Moderator: Aldus Marius

The extent of Lucifer

Postby Lucius Tyrrhenus Garrulus on Mon Dec 29, 2003 3:50 am

Salvete omnes! S.V.B.E.V.
I was reading on this site how Venus, and almost all of her mythos, was brought to Italy in 217 BCE.
Now, Pliny the Elder, says that Venus arising before the dawn is called Lucifer. To me, this seems no more than an astrological term. Right?
Question 1) Was Lucifer just the Latin version of the Greek Phosphoros?
Question 2) If not, was there actual worship of Lucifer in the Religio Romana, or private worship of Lucifer documented?

Multo gratias et valete bene!
NOX EST PERPETVA VNA DORMIENDA
Lucius Tyrrhenus Garrulus
Eques
Eques

Postby Gnaeus Dionysius Draco on Mon Dec 29, 2003 1:04 pm

Salve Tyrrhene,

Before I answer, the usual caveat that I'm not a religio expert but answer from the top of my head.

1. I also think it's no more than an astrological term. In fact, Venus also had a name as evening star but I forgot that name.

2. Phosphoros? May very well be.

3. Gods were often worshipped or mentioned under other aliases, or with an added nickname to their usual names, but it would seem unlikely to me that Lucifer had a seperate form of worship. Although stars and planets had names of deities or mythological figures, I'm not aware that stars and/or planets themselves were worshipped.

Vale bene,
Draco
Gn. Dionysius Draco Invictus
Gnaeus Dionysius Draco
Curialis
Curialis

Postby Quintus Aurelius Orcus on Mon Dec 29, 2003 1:08 pm

Salve
Now, Pliny the Elder, says that Venus arising before the dawn is called Lucifer. To me, this seems no more than an astrological term. Right?

You are probably correct on that one.
Question 1) Was Lucifer just the Latin version of the Greek Phosphoros?